Resistance to praises

Questions or discussion about Kagan theory, research, or implementing Kagan in your classroom.
mabboud

Resistance to praises

Post by mabboud » Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:30 am

Hello,

I am a french teacher and I have been using Kagan structures in my 1st level french classes. One thing that hinders total structure completion is the resistance some students exhibit towards positive feedback. They complete the activity but refuse to praise their teammates by voicing their discontent as, "this is too childish, this is embarrassing, why do we have to praise, hugs....ewwwww, high fives are for sports only......etc....". These students are highly intelligent and dedicated to learning French but they are not willing to compromise when it comes to positive feedback. They would rather get it from me than give it to the people in their groups. Dr. Kagan states in his book that difficult student will come around and social skills will take over eventually.
As a graduate student, I have chosen to do a qualitative research paper on factors that contribute resistance to completing a cooperative learning structure by refusing to perform positive feedback at end of structure.
Dr. Kagan has many articles posted on Kagan online and I would love to use them for my research. Dr. M, my professor asks that all articles or journals be peer reviewed publications. Are Dr. Kagans articles online peer reviewed? I have also done a litterature review but other than finding hundreds of cooperative learning articles, I have not found one that addresses resistance to positive feedback. Dr. Kagan's structures are the only ones in cooperative learning that have positive feedback. Can you guide me in terms of articles done by other graduate students regarding Kagan structures and resistance to them by students?
I would appreciate any help and I thank you in advance
Maria

Spencer

Resistance to Praise

Post by Spencer » Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:59 pm

Maria,