Where do I start implementing Kagan in my classroom

Questions or discussion about Kagan theory, research, or implementing Kagan in your classroom.
frutte

Where do I start implementing Kagan in my classroom

Post by frutte » Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:57 pm

Hi I am a teacher in Singapore, teaching ICT.

I am wondering how do I start implementing Kagan co operative learning in my classroom to increase student's engagement? I been to one of the workshop and am sold on the idea of co-operative learning, but am unsure how to I implement this in my classroom.

Is there any jumpstart on how do new teachers implement Kagan Learning strategies into the classroom?

Thank you.

Yujin

Jeff Dane

Re: Where do I start implementing Kagan in my classroom

Post by Jeff Dane » Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:55 am

Yujin,
Thanks for the post. We just returned from Singapore last week and it is always exciting to hear from teachers from all over the world. I would recommend that you begin slowly to keep the balance between novelty and predictability. My suggestion would be to form heterogeneous teams, and begin with Timed Pair Share, RallyRobin, and RoundRobin. Along with that, be sure and occasionally get the students up doing Classbuilders. When you and the students are both comfortable in using these structures, you can then begin to add new ones. Great to hear from you. Thanks

frutte

Post by frutte » Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:37 pm

Thank you.