How do you use Kagan in Elementary Art grades K-5

Questions or discussion about Kagan theory, research, or implementing Kagan in your classroom.
mrt

How do you use Kagan in Elementary Art grades K-5

Post by mrt » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:59 pm

I am attempting to use Kagan engagement strategies in Elementary Art grades K-5. My classes meet once weekly for 50 minutes. If you have any suggestions or have any success stories to share, I would love to hear from you.

Christi Brown

Re: How do you use Kagan in Elementary Art grades K-5

Post by Christi Brown » Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:13 pm

As a music teacher, I had a similar schedule - once a week for 50 minutes. However, no matter the amount of time they were with me, there was always something I wanted them to learn, or remember. What do you want them to verbalize about art? In music, we had a saying, "If you can say it, you can play it." Well, if they talk about their drawing, pottery, or origami project - they are remembering/learning/processing art content. Could you lead students in a TimedPairShare structure at the end of class about what they created in art or learned today? Another idea, perhaps after multiple trips to the art room, they have a finished product to share with a team (RoundRobin). RallyTable has 2 students taking turns, in-the-moment, adding/drawing/building something together for a completed product. Very cool!
Try one structure - and check out the "Presenting Information" column on page 6.24 in the CL textbook to choose a structure of HOW they will share their art project!
Congrats on getting starting! Stay with it - it works! The music vocabulary became a natural language for all my students! All the Best, ~Christi Brown

mrt

Post by mrt » Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:46 am

Christi Brown wrote:
> As a music teacher, I had a similar schedule - once a week for 50 minutes.
> However, no matter the amount of time they were with me, there was always