Ideas for a behavior plan sought

Questions or discussion about Kagan theory, research, or implementing Kagan in your classroom.
mriccio

Ideas for a behavior plan sought

Post by mriccio » Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:59 pm

I am a special education teacher at a school for 200 ninth graders.
We are trying to implement a sort of group based learning model that is based on the book Tribes by Jeanne Gibbs.
We hope to divide up 100 students into groups of about four or five each for many learning and lesson based activities.
Several of the teachers are creating an elaborate system of points/rewards etc. Having students in "tribes" will hopefully help them see the value of tapping into each others strengths and aiding in areas of weakness.
In cases however where behaviors are consistently poor and a distraction to all concerned, we would like to have a time out wherein that student or students would have to go to the "resource room" for a time limited period (e.g. three days or so) and would be required to complete x amount of work to return back to his tribe.
The hope is that, in this way, he would catch up on his own work and raise the level of the tribe group.
Incorporate into my behavior concept would be behavioral contracts and report cards and other reward based tangibles.
Any one with any experience or thoughts about this, I would so appreciate hearing from you.
Thanks!

Jackie Minor

Post by Jackie Minor » Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:59 am

Michela,